Horizon Forbidden West: 14 Minutes of Gameplay Being Shown This Week

horizon forbidden west story 1 1593643646885 1621948009034 8c9G9S
tips

Sony has announced its next State of Play Broadcast, which will reveal Horizon Forbidden West gameplay for the first time. It will take place this Thursday, May 27 at 2pm Pacific / 5pm Eastern / 10pm UK (that’s May 28 at 7am AEST).

The 20-minute broadcast will include 14 minutes of brand new Forbidden West gameplay footage, captured from the PS5 version of the game. An announcement tweet for the event includes a video showing a top-down glimpse at Forbidden West’s verdant, post-apocalyptic world.

We are so excited to show you more of Horizon Forbidden West! This Thursday, May 27, join us on a very special journey into new and uncharted lands.

🏹 Find out more here: https://t.co/opJQFScC3M#HorizonForbiddenWest pic.twitter.com/kZ6zcVM7ny

— Guerrilla (@Guerrilla) May 25, 2021

The event will be preceded by a 5-hour pre-show – what that show will consist of is a little mysterious, but a PS Blog post says it will be a “uniquely crafted countdown towards the main State of Play event.”

Announced last year, Horizon Forbidden West is a direct sequel to Horizon Zero Dawn, seemingly set amid the overgrown ruins of a post-apocalyptic US west coast. Despite being a cross-generation title, IGN readers voted for it as their most-anticipated PS5 game. We still don’t have a formal release date, but developer Guerrilla is aiming for a 2021 release.

While we’ll need to judge the gameplay on its own merits, Sony Sony Interactive Entertainment president and CEO Jim Ryan has previously sought to assuage fears that the PS5 version of Forbidden West will be held back by its PS4 release by saying that it has been “built from the ground up to take advantage of the PS5 feature set”. Guerrilla has previously said that the PS5 SSD will mean the game has virtually no loading screens.

[ignvideo url=”https://www.ign.com/videos/2020/06/11/horizon-forbidden-west-horizon-2-reveal-trailer-ps5-reveal-event”][poilib element=”accentDivider”]

Joe Skrebels is IGN’s Executive Editor of News. Follow him on Twitter. Have a tip for us? Want to discuss a possible story? Please send an email to newstips@ign.com.

tips
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify me
guest
0 Commenti
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments