Battlefield 2042’s Story Will Be Explained in a Short Film

bf2042 1623456296934 5NhtBl
tips

Battlefield 2042’s story will be explained in a short film titled Exodus which will premiere on August 12. 

DICE may have axed the story campaign for this year’s launch of Battlefield 2042, but it recently announced on Twitter that Exodus, a standalone film, will help to unpack the world of Battlefield 2042. The short will air on August 12 at 8am Pacific / 11am Eastern / 4pm UK (that’s August 13 at 1am AEST).

The standalone short film Exodus premieres August 12, 8am PDT / 5pm CEST.

🎬: https://t.co/ulMzEaPZ89

Unpacking the world of #Battlefield 2042 #WeAreNoPats pic.twitter.com/CaIUGmxUnm

— Battlefield (@Battlefield) August 2, 2021

Exodus, which debuts on the Battlefield YouTube channel, will allow fans to “witness the events that will trigger an all-out war”. It sounds as if the events within the short film will act as a prelude to Battlefield 2042’s multiplayer mode. IGN previously reported on the game’s multiplayer narrative, where we explained that the game’s story will be told “through the eyes of the Specialist characters” set to be introduced throughout the game.

In the run-up to the release of Exodus, DICE says that fans of the series will be able to “witness the locations of Battlefield 2042 through the eyes of embedded journalist Kayvan Bechir”. Bechir, DICE says, began his story trying to find out whether or not the ‘No-Pats’ were the “villains the world made them out to be.” Over the coming days, fans will seemingly be able to uncover his story piece by piece as they follow his journey around the world, engulfed by war. You can now read the first chapter of Bechir’s journey, which is linked in a tweet below:

“For a time, it seemed we might tame nature. Then the oil ran out.”

Read the first chapter of Journey of the No-Pats: https://t.co/sQyOHUy0T0 #WeAreNoPats pic.twitter.com/wzNDdwqgkD

— Battlefield (@Battlefield) August 3, 2021

Battlefield 2042 is slated for release on October 22. In the meantime, check out this article about the game’s new Portal mode, which lets you remix classic Battlefield multiplayer maps and features in unexpected ways. Alternatively, you can browse our dedicated Battlefield 2042 page for the latest news and opinion pieces.

[ignvideo url=”https://www.ign.com/videos/2021/07/22/battlefield-portal-custom-modes-gameplay-trailer”][poilib element=”accentDivider”]

Jared Moore is a freelance writer for IGN who never gets tired of Battlefield’s destructive scenery. You can follow him on Twitter.

tips
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify me
guest
0 Commenti
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments